Full Name Microwave Humidity Sounder Status Operational
Instrument Agencies EUMETSAT Maturity
Instrument Type Atmospheric temperature and humidity sounders Geometry Cross-track scanning
Instrument Technology Absorption-band MW radiometer/spectrometer Sampling Sounding
Data Access Open Access Data Format BUFR
Measurements and Applications Atmospheric humidity profiles, cloud cover, cloud liquid, water content, ice boundaries and precipitation data. MHS on NOAA-18 is considered failed following an anomaly on 21 October 2018.
Resolution Summary Vertical: 3 - 7 km, Horizontal: 30 - 50 km
Swath Summary 1650 km
Accuracy Summary Cloud water profile: 10 g/m2, specific humidity profile: 10 - 20%
Waveband Summary Microwave: 89 GHz, 166 GHz and 3 channels near 183 GHz
MW (~0.1 cm - ~100 cm)
Instrument Measurements
Measurements Overview
Atmospheric Humidity FieldsAtmospheric specific humidity (LT, HT, LS, TC)
Cloud particle properties and profileCloud liquid water (column/profile)
Precipitation Profile (liquid or solid)
Cloud type, amount and cloud top temperatureCloud type
Liquid water and precipitation ratePrecipitation intensity at the surface (liquid or solid)
Thematic Links Global Climate Observing System Essential Climate Variables (GCOS ECVs)
ECVDescriptionProduct(s)ECV Inventory 3.0 Record(s)
Cloud Properties click here click here NOAA Climate Data Records (CDR) of AMSU-...
Precipitation click here click here Record ID: 11856
Record ID: 11839
NOAA Climate Data Records (CDR) of AMSU-...
Water Vapour (upper air) click here click here NOAA Climate Data Records (CDR) of AMSU-...
Record ID: 10434
Upper Tropospheric Humidity (UTH)
find more ECV Inventory records
Instrument Missions
NOAA-18 - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - 18 (2005 - 2024)
Metop-A - Meteorological Operational Polar Satellite - A (2006 - 2021)
NOAA-19 - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - 19 (2009 - 2024)
Metop-B - Meteorological Operational Polar Satellite - B (2012 - 2024)
Metop-C - Meteorological Operational Polar Satellite - C (2018 - 2027)